Graduation

So it’s official!!!! Yesturday was my graduation. I am now…well, not a college student yet, not until the fall, but neither am I a high school student anymore. It’s a bit strange. Even stranger, it’s my birthday today. So the day I graduated was the last time I was a 17 year old. I stopped being a high school student and became a real adult at pretty much the same time. It was like the universe was telling me I was ready to make a difference.

But then, I don’t feel any different. In fact, today is like any other day (except that my facebook is getting filled with birthday wishes and graduation pictures).

So, since I have time since I’m forbidden from going to my school as my underclassmen are taking their last day of finals, I thought I’ll share my graduation with all of you.

Lets start with…the graduation practice (this post might be jumpy). I barely made it on time, which was good because if you don’t show up…well, you can’t walk the stage later that day. It was funny though. A friend of mine won the award “most likely to be late to graduation” as a senior award…and she was 15 minutes late to the graduation practice. Our Vice Principal was using her mic to call out her name to make sure she was there…and was getting awfully worried when my friend didn’t show up. Haha. 🙂

Then I had Panda Express with my friends for lunch. Which was nice considering it wasn’t the WHOLE group of friends…but just the four of us close friends. My friend Mario and i are going to the same community collge (same some moolah) and are probably going to the same UC afterwards so we know we’re still going to stick together. But my other two friends are going straight into UC schools- one got a full ride to UC Merced, and my other friend is aiming to be a doctor at UC LA. So yeah, probably the last lunch we’ll have together.

Then I came home to this:

my sister decided to carry me

And this:

showing off our muscles

And then transformed to this:

Don't I look so grown up? 🙂

Backstage, I waited an hour so I won’t be late for graduation. I had an awesome cap:

My cap. I actually messed up the first time...luckily i had an extra cap

but my friends’ were pretty cool looking too. One had an arrow sticking out pointing to her, another had a clown on her hat (which was perfect since she’s such a clown), another had a pokeball (cuz she’s asian like that! lol).

That hour of waiting went on super fast. When I heard the music I reached for my friend’s hand. We held on super tight with held breaths. I had butterflies in my stomach. My friend in front of me during the walk twisted her ankle though because she was wearing these REALLY HIGH high heels. So warning girls: don’t wear such high heels. They are not fun.

Then the ceremony went by fast. I felt like crying, but as soon as I felt the tears coming, the speech became funny. I love my c/o 2011.

Then…it was over.

And now it’s today and I’m 18.

If you guys want to hear more, I could go in more details. But i figured you probably don’t and would rather just see pictures. So here you go!

I feel so loved by my family!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bleh
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 18:32:50

    So are you glad to be out of high school or are you oging to miss it?

    Reply

  2. Monica "Choppy" Nguyen
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 15:23:19

    @bleh I’m not sure. Half of the senior class is going to the same school I am (seriously) so it’ll feel like high school again, i think. But, mm, I’ll miss it. Yeah. I already do…I’m still talking about how my high school yearbook class will be amazing and how I’d come back and help out…about the cross country and track team for next year. I’m really going to miss it. But I’m really glad it’s over too. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

