authors versus teachers

 

  Before I get to my whole sha-bang, let me tell you guys something exciting:

I’m in my senior year of high school. Graduating in less than a month. And not only that, but I’ll be graduating as a 17 year old. (Forget about the fact that my birthday is the day after graduation- I’ll still be 17 when I walk the stage which just makes me feel so smart.)

Ahem. So, with that out of the way…being an almost-adult here and have been writing since the second grade, I thought I’ll share a ramble on writing. Like…the picture above.

Within my twelve years of school, you know how many times I’ve been asked that type of question/ been told to me by an English teacher? A Gazillion of times. I bet you have too.

And frankly, as a writer, I’m pretty sure, most of the time, the reasoning behind the blue curtains, isn’t what the teacher is saying. Because heck, in my writing, I tend to pick colors I like and that seem to fit the mood of the story. But I don’t get that in depth. Maybe sometimes- because as a writer, when I make something symbolic like that work with the storyline, I feel pretty darn impressed. But really? Nah.

Yeah, I’m digressing here, but I figured before I totally lose you, here’s my little fun writing question for you all:

Do you believe/tend to write like “the teacher” or “the author” more? Why? As a writer yourself, do you also get annoyed/amused/frustrated when teachers go in depth about something that seems like the picture above?

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sonia
    May 11, 2011 @ 19:23:25

    Congrats on graduating! I turned 18 a week after my high school gradation. lol

    I felt like that lots of times. Especially when the teacher goes into the author’s life and say this wall is his life and this is because of his unhappiness with his marriage. I think sometimes English teachers just take the whole symbolic thing to extremes. Sometimes a spade is just a spade.

    Reply

  2. Monica "Choppy" Nguyen
    May 11, 2011 @ 19:48:53

    Hi Sonia! I’m impressed…and here I thought I was just rambling to myself. haha.

    Yeah, doesn’t graduating as a 17 year old kind of…smart making? It makes me feel as if I was super smart and skipped a grade. haha

    Anyways, going into the author’s life…I actually don’t like it when teachers talk about it. I like reading the story as is, without outside influences like that. Such as the book “Fight Club.” Once the teacher told the class that the author was gay, half of my class bailed on the book or they thought differently about the characters.

    Symbolic extremes. Yes. Thought it’s ironic when you DO try to be symbolic…but no one gets it. But then, they take the other “symbols” you never even thought about…and you just go with the flow. haha

    Reply

    • Sonia
      May 11, 2011 @ 20:53:17

      Lol yeah. One time I wrote a dragon story for my creative writing class and one of the girls loved how symbolic his purple wings were. I was, huh?

      Reply

  3. dusty
    May 11, 2011 @ 21:59:58

    Hey, Monica. This website is about you telling us what you know, so I don’t mean to come in and argue with what your talking about, but I kinda disagree.

    I just kind of like the deep meaning of work, that’s all.

    Reply

  4. dusty
    May 11, 2011 @ 22:01:25

    Wait, what!?! The author of Fight Club’s gay?!

    Reply

  5. Monica "Choppy" Nguyen
    May 13, 2011 @ 14:19:02

    @Sonia purple wings? nice 🙂 lol Yeah, something sorta like that happened with a poem I wrote. It was just supposed to be a funny piece, but this one readers went into this whole thing about how it’s symbolic and how “deep” it is. I just kinda went with what she said and was surprised she thought it. It was nice though- as a writer, we get so into our own works, we may not be aware of some of the things we are protraying. It’s nice to see others getting into it and letting me know what they thought of it and how differently they view my writing.

    @Dusty I’m not saying I don’t like deep meaning/ symbolic things in novels/poems/ect. I’m just saying it’s random at times when really, the author is probably just saying that the curtains are blue. nothing more.

    And yes, the author of Fight Club is gay. Or that’s what my teacher told us anyways.

    Reply

    • sonia
      May 13, 2011 @ 15:34:59

      @Monica – yeah purple. when she saw my face (I think I must have looked pretty shocked that anyone could turn purple wings into a symbol) she said something about being trained to do that, find symbols and deeper meaning.

      @Dusty – most of the time deeper meaning is good, but sometimes teachers go overboard.

      Reply

  6. toasty redhead
    May 14, 2011 @ 02:35:04

    I agree 100%

    Reply

  7. dusty
    May 19, 2011 @ 23:14:24

    Dusty sez: Oh! I get it. I see whatyou mean now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

